Six Penn Staters named 2024-25 BTAA Academic Leadership Program Fellows

Nittany Lion Shrine
Credit: Curtis Chan

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Big Ten Academic Alliance's (BTAA) Academic Leadership Program (ALP) in 2024-25 will include six new fellows from Penn State.

The BTAA is the academic consortium of the Big Ten universities and the United States’ preeminent model for effective collaboration among research universities.

The ALP focuses on addressing the challenges of academic administration at major research universities. Through the program, participants who have demonstrated exceptional ability and administrative promise can further develop their leadership and managerial skills. Fellows are appointed to one-year terms, and funding is provided by the participating institutions.

Penn State’s participants for the 2024-25 program were selected based on their significant contributions and further potential for University leadership. The participants are:

  • Amy Allen, associate dean for faculty affairs and advancement; distinguished professor of philosophy and women’s, gender, and sexuality studies; College of the Liberal Arts

  • Reuben Asempapa, associate professor of mathematics education; program coordinator for elementary education (PK-4/4-8), undergraduate and post-baccalaureate programs; School of Behavioral Sciences & Education, Penn State Harrisburg

  • Trevor Birkenholtz, professor of geography; associate head, resident graduate programs; director, Riparia Center; College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

  • Jennie Knies, associate dean for Penn State Commonwealth Campus Libraries, Penn State Scranton

  • Frantisek (Frank) Marko, distinguished professor of mathematics, Penn State Hazleton

  • S. Shyam Sundar, James P. Jimirro Professor of Media Effects; co-director, Media Effects Research Laboratory; director, Center for Socially Responsible Artificial Intelligence; Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications

The fellows will participate in three in-person seminars at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the Big Ten Conference Center in Chicago, and Rutgers University-New Brunswick.

For more information about this program, visit the BTAA Academic Leadership Program website and the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs website.