Penn State Worthington Scranton Orientation

Penn State Worthington Scranton has a full day slated for its 2005 Orientation and Convocation. The event takes place this Friday, August 26th  and, although not a class-day, this marks the first official day of the 2005-2006 academic year.
Orientation and Convocation Day begins at 9:00 a.m. with a Welcoming Address from Penn State Worthington Scranton Chancellor Mary-Beth Krogh-Jespersen, Ph.D. H. Durell Johnson, Ph.D., associate professor and assistant director of academic affairs will deliver the Keynote Address. Student Government President Jonathan Bossick and Cari Mancini, Student Government vice president will then address the Convocation.
First year students will learn what to expect during their freshman year during small group sessions scheduled from 10 a.m. to noon. Lunch will be served at noon on the "Patio" between the Study Learning Center and the Dawson Building.
Students, scheduled according to their respective majors and Penn State academic colleges, will meet representatives from those academic areas from 1:15 to 2:30 p.m. Informational sessions on Financial Aid, a Work Study Job Fair, Athletics, and Information and Technology will close out the day.
The first day of class for Penn State Worthington Scranton is Tuesday, August 30th.  During that day students interested in the Army or Air Force Reserve Officer Training Course, (ROTC), will have access to representatives from those disciplines. An All-Campus Picnic is scheduled for noon, co-sponsored by Penn State Worthington Scranton Alumni and Student Government Association. Other events are slated throughout the first week of class to welcome Penn State Worthington Scranton students back to school.

Penn State Student Leaders for Orientation 2005 - From left are: Javier Fernandez, Brian Cooper, Justin Miller, Pamela Kulp, Joe Podwats, Leon John, assistant director student activities unions and programs, and Chris Hudson.
Left to right front row are: Chris Wagner, Kim Schuit, Katie Harrington, Kathleen Parlanti, Yomaben Patel, Shane Flynn, Joe Keating, and Matt Crimi.