Nominations Underway for Student, Faculty and Staff Awards

Throughout the year, Penn State Worthington Scranton's faculty and staff work diligently to ensure the success of our campus and our students.

As a way of recognizing their efforts, Penn State Worthington Scranton has established the Campus Awards, which have been a long-standing resource for recognizing the efforts of hardworking faculty and staff.

Worthington Scranton continues to be remarkably successful in compelling benefactors to support our faculty and staff through select Campus Awards for the work they do both on our campus and in our community.  

Nominations for the Campus Awards are now underway, and continue through April 18, 2008.  All faculty, staff and students are encouraged to learn more about these awards and submit their nominations by going to

Awards nomination forms are available online.  The winners of these awards will be presented at this year's Honors Convocation in May.

Student Awards

In addition to faculty and staff awards, nominations are also now underway for several student awards/scholarships.

Awards for which nominations are being accepted are:

The Patrick J. Rose Award for Excellence in Student Leadership and Service, which is a scholarship award that recognizes Penn State Commonwealth Campus student leaders who have excelled in Leadership and Service to the Campus Community.

The Greater Scranton Penn State Chapter Pride of Lions Award, which was created by the Greater Scranton Penn State Chapter, for a student who has completed two semesters at Penn State and whose qualities of leadership, scholarship, citizenship and character have positively influenced fellow students, and have contributed to the prestige and well-being of Penn State Worthington Scranton.

The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, which is presented to the student who has most improved the reputation of the university through extracurricular activities. Walker was president of the university from 1956 to 1970. The purpose of this award is to recognize undergraduate students enrolled at the Commonwealth Campuses who are completing two full years of undergraduate study in either an associate or bachelor degree program, who has consistently demonstrated those qualities which the Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award honors. 

Students must be nominated by faculty, staff or current Worthington Scranton students.  Award applications can be obtained in the Department of Student Affairs in SLC 21 (see Laurie), the Student Activities Department in SLC Cafeteria and the SGA office in SLC Cafeteria. Please nominate a student, contact your nominee and complete the appropriate applications. Return completed applications to the Department of Student Affairs no later than April 11, 2008 by 5:00 pm. The recipients will be announced at the Honors Reception Dinner on May 15, 2008.

Contact Nanci Purcell at 963-2700 if you have any questions.

Faculty Senate Scholarship Awards

The Office of Student Aid is also making nominations for scholarships and awards for the upcoming academic 2008-09 academic year and is seeking input from faculty and staff to help nominate 12 students who meet the following criteria for the 2008-09 Faculty Senate Scholarship: 

Full-time student
minimum GPA
Sophomores, juniors, or seniors in 2008-09
Demonstrated financial need

Not a previous Senate Scholarship recipient

(Several scholarships require demonstrated service, leadership, extra-curricular activity.  Please note students' activities, if known.)
Award values for Faculty Senate scholarships vary, but are typically between $800-$1200 a year and are one-time, non-renewable awards.  Nominations are due by Friday, May 16th to Mary Beth Dougherty, Financial Aid Coordinator and can be made via email ([email protected]). 

Nominators should email or call Ms. Dougherty to ensure that the student they want to nominate has demonstrated financial need prior to making their nomination. Ultimately, five students will receive this scholarship.