Penn State Students Honored At Annual Awards Dinner

Penn State Worthington Scranton recently held its annual Awards Dinner and Convocation at the campus' Gallagher Conference Center. Several awards were presented for outstanding academic performance and service to the campus programs.

Awards and recipients are as follows:


President's Freshman Awards, which are reserved for University students carrying a 4.0 grade point average for the first semester of their freshman year, were awarded to Matthew Brown, Geovanny Caicedo Montoya, Wendy Kelly, Lindsay Kokindo, Christopher Rowe, Tyler Sebastian, Moosic; Amy Smith, Jacklyn Smith, Forest City; and James Wilson, .


President's Sparks Awards, which are reserved for students carrying a 4.0 grade point average through the first semester of their sophomore year, were awarded to Christopher Rowe, Carina Lewis and Britland Vergnetti, Scranton.


Evan Pugh Scholar Awards, which are presented to students whose academic achievement places them in the upper 0.5 percent of their class, was awarded to Stephanie Kudey, Pittston.


Academic Excellence Awards, which are presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement in their individual disciplines, and were nominated by faculty members of the discipline, were awarded to:  Britland Vergnetti, Scranton, in biological sciences; Sara Snyder, Scranton, in business; Mary Ubaldini in creative writing; Doug Mallas, Scranton, in education; David Moss, Scranton; in engineering; Paul Zipprich, Hop Bottom, in engineering technology; Andrea Karwaski, Scranton, in  English composition; Stephanie Kudey, Pittston, in human development and family studies; Marcus Lemoncelli, in humanities; Russell Jacobs, Dalton, in information sciences and technology; Ryan Arthur, Carbondale, in mathematics; Megan Harrington, Scranton, in music; Karen Howard, Mayfield, in nursing; Ryan Arthur, Carbondale, in physical sciences; Robert Davis, in social sciences; Andrea Karwaski, Scranton, in Spanish; and Siobhan Sadusky, in speech communication.


 Worthington Scranton Campus Honors Program was established to broaden and enrich the education of outstanding students at the Worthington Scranton campus.  Both baccalaureate and associate degree students are eligible for the program.  Along with the Schreyer Scholars and Campus Scholars, the campus honors students participate in a wide range of academic, social, and cultural activities.


Honors Program students who were recognized include first-year students Shane Christianson,  Kaylee Cummings, South Abington Twp.; Renee Deacon, Christopher Haldane, David Holden, Scranton; Russell Jacobs, Dalton; Andrea Karwaski, Scranton; Rachel Mazza,  Erika Mills, Susquehanna; Michael Regula, Jacklyn Smith, Forest City; Andrea Summa, Scranton; Shahub Tossi, Clarks Summit; and Colleen Wittich, Lake Ariel.


Second year student recipients are:  Kristi Farinelli, Forest City; Jennifer Jurbala, Dickson City; Doug Mallas, Scranton; Erika McLain, Springbrook Twp.; Matthew Morgan, Jessica Musgrove, Honesdale; and Patrick Stuff.


Third-year student recipients are:  Jennifer Dobitsch, Clarks Summit; Danielle Dunmire, Throop; and Justyna Thomas, Honesdale.


Fourth year recipient was Corey Chorba, Throop.


Christopher Sturchio Honors Program Service Award, which is presented to members of the Schreyer Scholars and Campus Honors Program for outstanding service on behalf of the program, was awarded to Jennifer Dobitsch, Clarks Summit.


Richard and Lois Ostroski Family Award for Adult Learners, which honors and recognizes outstanding achievement by an adult learner who has obtained the highest grade point average upon completion of his/her freshman year, was awarded to Amy Smith.


Patrick J. and Mary Jane Sheridan Award for Excellence in Financial Services, which recognizes outstanding achievement by a student enrolled in the Financial Services option of the Bachelor of Science degree in Business, and who obtains the highest grade point average at the end of his/her junior year, was awarded to Sara Jugan, Dickson City.


Walter Weber Memorial Award in Theatre and Speech Communications, which honors and recognizes an outstanding student with an overall grade point average of 3.0 or higher, and who has excelled in theatre or speech communications courses, was awarded to Siobhan Sadusky.


Wall Street Journal Award, which is awarded to the outstanding graduate in the Business Administration curriculum, was presented to Theresa Delfino, Scranton.


Outstanding Scholars Award, which is presented to students achieving the highest grade point average in the associate and baccalaureate curricula, was awarded to first year student Amy Smith; second year students Christopher Haldane and Britland Vergnetti, Scranton; third year student Jennifer Jurbala, Dickson City; and fourth year recipient Russell Jacobs, Dalton. This award is sponsored by the Worthington Scranton Alumni Society.


Patrick J. Rose Award for Excellence in Student Leadership and Service and the Greater Scranton Penn State Chapter Pride of Lions Award are two awards that are presented to students whose qualities of leadership, scholarship, citizenship, and character have been directed into programs and services on campus and/or in the community. This year's award was  presented to Sara Jugan, Dickson City.

Osher Reentry Scholarship:  Funded by a grant from the Bernard Osher Foundation, the Osher Reentry Scholarship is available to both full- and part-time students who are returning to college after a gap of five or more years to complete their first undergraduate degree program, expect to participate in the workforce upon graduation and be between the ages of 25 and 50, as well as have a need for tuition assistance.

The Bernard Osher Foundation in San Francisco, was founded by businessman and community leader Bernard Osher to improve quality of life through support for higher education and the arts. Penn State is among 74 institutions in 30 states and the District of Columbia receiving funding for the Osher Reentry Scholarship.  This year's recipient:  Joseph Lacertoso, Dunmore.