Dr. Eva Tettenborn chosen to serve on selection committee for literature prize

Dr. Eva Tettenborn, associate professor of English and program coordinator of Corporate Communication at Penn State Worthington Scranton, has accepted an invitation to serve on the committee for the selection of the 2015 John Dos Passos Prize for Literature.


"I am excited about this invitation, as this prize has recognized many American authors before their works were more widely identified as significant contributions to the American literary canon. It is an honor to be included on this year's jury," Dr. Tettenborn said.


Dr. Tettenborn was a named a National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Scholar and participated in the 2012 NEH Summer Institute's "Contemporary African American Literature."  She also served as a panelist for the 2014 Susquehanna County Reads community book discussion, Travels with Charley: In Search of America, by John Steinbeck.

The John Dos Passos Prize for Literature has been awarded by Longwood University in Farmville, VA since 1980. Honoring frequently overlooked yet influential author Dos Passos, the prize recognizes contemporary American writers "who have produced a substantial body of significant publication that displays characteristics of John Dos Passos's writing: an intense and original exploration of specifically American themes, an experimental approach to form and an interest in a wide range of human experiences."

For more information visit:  www.longwood.edu/english/7922.htm