Cap, tassel and penn state diploma cover

Virtual commencement ceremony honors Class of 2020

Congratulations to the Class of 2020! You have spent the past few years working hard to get to this point, and it is that hard work and commitment to your studies and to your futures that we celebrate.

This year, due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, orders from the state government and recommendations from global public health organizations, Penn State will hold its Spring 2020 commencement ceremony virtually, via livestream at on May 9 at 2 p.m. Be sure to share this link with family and friends so they can join you!

The program, which will last about 40 mintues will include:

  • The National Anthem, sung by Amina Faye ’20
  • Special Remarks, by President Eric Barron
  • Remarks and Introductions, by Provost Nick Jones
  • Authorization to Confer Degrees, by Board of Trustees Chair Mark Dambly
  • Recognition of Meritorious Achievement, by Penn State Students
  • Conferral of Degrees, by Provost Jones and President Barron
  • Induction into the Alumni Association, by Alumni Association President Randolph Houston
  • Special Thanks, by Penn State Students
  • The Penn State Alma Mater, Penn State Blue Band and Students

For more information about commencement, visit the University Park Commencement web page.

To view a special Virtual Yearbook created for the Class of 2020, go to:

“Regardless of the outside circumstances affecting all of our daily lives right now, I encourage you all to take time to celebrate today for all that you have accomplished,” said Dr. Marwan Wafa, Penn State Scranton chancellor.

“You have spent the past few years working hard to get to this point, and it is that hard work and commitment to your studies and to your futures that we celebrate.”

Wafa added that the campus is planning to hold a special celebration for the graduates later in the year, when social distancing restrictions are lifted and they and their families can come back to the campus to celebrate in person.

Graduate Shanie Mohamed was named this year’s Chancellor’s Scholar.

Penn State Scranton granted baccalaureate degrees in Biology; Business; Corporate Communication; English; Human Development and Family Studies; Information Sciences and Technology; Letters, Arts and Sciences; Nursing; Psychology; and Science.

This year, the campus also graduated its first baccalaureate degree graduate in Project and Supply Chain Management.

Associate degrees were awarded in: Information Sciences and Technology and Letters, Arts and Sciences.

Several students graduated with honors of distinction. 

Graduating Summa Cum LaudeBelle Bonczkiewicz, Jason Chaffardet, Thomas Gonzales, Shanie Mohamed, Kimberly Stout Kramer and Kyle Wind.

Graduating Magna Cum Laude:  Samantha Evanina, Hang Nguyen and Maria Rosa Nicolosi.

Graduating Cum Laude:  Hilary Blake, Taylor Bronson, George Houck, Noah Kline, Robert Murphy Jr. and Nicholas Skierkowski.

Recognition of Graduates with Military Service: Thomas Kraser, Shannon Talarico and Ryan Vance.

The following Penn State Scranton 2020 graduates, by Penn State college and degree earned are: 

Bachelor of Science, Biology:  Brandy Hernandez, Dunmore; and Robert Murphy, Jr., Dunmore.

Bachelor of Science, Business:  Eilyas Abdul Latif, Scranton; Hector Andujar Rojas, Scranton; Malachi Bobo, Tobyhanna; Amanda Bray, Jefferson Twp.; Daniel Burke, Scranton; Ryan Burke, Scranton; Tressa Calachino, Jessup; Kelliann Carey, Dunmore; Racheal  Carter, Clarks Summit; Jason Chaffardet, Greentown; Morgan Collins, Scranton; Jennifer Diehl, Olyphant; Maria Dombrowski, Jefferson Twp.; Stephane Duteste, Tobyhanna; Samantha Evanina, Olyphant; Ryan Fisher, Dunmore; Cory Frick, Dunmore; Bryan Gallagher, Archbald; Jonathan Gillen, Greentown; Patrick Hagan, West Abington Twp.; Monique Hicks, Clifton Twp.; Alan Hilenski, Mountain Top; Taylor Hobbs, Scranton; Casey Holman, Taylor; George Houck, Waverly; David Jobs, Jr.; Scranton; Richard C. Johnson, Archbald; David Jobs Jr., Scranton; Ashley Kamla, Moscow; Noah Kline, Dickson City; Alexander Kresock, Forest City; Nicholas Ksiazek, Olyphant; Bansi Lalkiya, Scranton; Manshi Lalkiya, Scranton; Brandon Lamberton, Lake Ariel; Gino Leccese, Dickson City; Kyle Lucas, Archbald; Cory Lynch, Scranton; Trevor Markin, Equinunk; Christopher Matute, Scranton; Milton Matybel, Scranton; Velcy Modi, Dunmore; Shanie Mohamed, Long Pond; David O’Neill, Dunmore; Aneri Patel, Dunmore; Deepkumar Patel, Scranton; Khushi Patel, Scranton; Nirav Patel, Scranton; Ryan Phillips, Moosic; Zachary Polito, Carbondale; Julio Ramos, Scranton; Charles Rogers, Elmhurst Twp.; Vittorio Romano, Jessup; Michael Sebastian, Waverly Twp.; Nicholas Skierkowski, South Abington Twp.; Jordan Stranieri, Clarks Summit; Zachary Sutter, Clarks Summit; Joseph Vulpis, Greentown; Cassandra Wiggins, Roaring Brook Twp.; Kyle Wind, Dickson City; and Jakob Ziminskas, Jessup.

Bachelor of Arts, Corporate Communication:  Dominique Jordan, Dunmore; Kayla Mickavicz, Scranton; Jordan Peters, Milford; Lucines Polanco, Bronx, NY; Ahmed Rajab, Philadelphia; and Erika Winklebleck, Dalton.

Bachelor of Arts, English:  Russell Filip, Lords Valley; Julie Maconeghy, Madison Twp.; Nancy Richards, Lords Valley; and Emily Schick, Scranton.

Bachelor of Science, Human Development & Family Studies: 

Betty Capozzi, Carbondale; Jordan  Chiavacci, Wyoming; Jasmine Dass, Carbondale; Jinal  Dave, Scranton; Robert DeMeck, South Abington, Twp.; Sarah Hoger, Honesdale; Melissa Ives, Jermyn; Kalia Jefferson, Scranton; Damani Kizer, Carbondale; Matthew Macart, Taylor; Shianne Michalowski, Factoryville; Maria Rosa Nicolosi, Scranton; Lauren Pacheco, Swiftwater; Kanan  Patel, Scranton; Julie Pesavento, Olyphant; Araceli Rios, Scranton; Morgan Silfies, Hawley; Kimberly Stout Kramer, Eynon; and Jim Tuttle, New Milford.

Associate in Information Sciences and Technology: Thomas Kraser, Scranton.

Bachelor of Science, Information Sciences & Technology:  Roman Crisafulli, Throop; Velcy Modi, Dunmore; Harsh Patel, Scranton; Ronny Patterson, Carbondale; Joshua Romance, Prompton; Todd Snee, Jefferson Twp.; David Vanbuskirk Jr., Scranton; and Matthew Walsh, Spring Brook Twp.

Associate in Arts, Letters, Arts & Sciences: Jordan McCormack, Dunmore; and Ryan Thomas, Shohola.

Bachelor of Arts, Letters, Arts and Sciences:  Kayla Bebla, Vandling; and Humberto Modesto, Scranton.

Bachelor of Science, Nursing: Kelly Arnold, Olyphant; Casia Burley, Scranton; Antonia Corma, Lake Ariel; Kailey Gearhart, Factoryville; Arianne Grilli, Plains; Kalei Kowalchik, Olyphant; Maren Lindemuth, Dunmore; Melanie McAndrew, Jessup; Lisa Mickley, Greentown; Brenda Miele, Tobyhanna; Elizabeth Olivares Martinez, Reading; Nicholas Pieshefski, Olyphant; Leah Rogan, North Abington Twp.; Andrew Saniski, Mayfield; Shannon Talarico, Bear Creek Twp.; Brooke  Tanana, Archbald; and Becky Theobald, Honesdale.

Bachelor of Science, Nursing (RN to BSN): Janelle Ledonne, Kingston; Elizabeth Martino, Scranton; Oksana Mazur, Spring Brook Twp.; and Ryan Vance, Scranton.

Bachelor of Science, Project and Supply Chain Management: Christopher LaRosa, Moscow.

Bachelor of Arts, Psychology: Hilary Blake, Clarks Summit; Daniel Chylak, Olyphant; Serena Garnett, Milford; Olivia Glogowski, Scranton; Shannon Henderson, Scranton; Amber Lomeo, South Abington Twp.; Hang Nguyen, Old Forge; Rebecca Remsky, Old Forge; and Gina Romano, Clarks Summit.

Bachelor of Science, Psychology:  Anna Aebli, Scranton; Belle Bonczkiewicz, Eynon; Taylor Bronson, New Milford; Broderick Dial, Moscow; Zachary  Lugiano, Shavertown; Casidhe Menig, Dallas; Stephanie Merli, Old Forge; Patrick Wall, Trucksville; Taylor White, Scranton; and Nicole Williams, Moscow.

Bachelor of Science, Science: Yael Chapo, Milford; Thomas Gonzales, Grand Prairie, TX; Rajvi Kaneriya, Wilkes-Barre; Sarah Skierkowski, South Abington Twp.; and Dennis Vaughan, Hawley.