Dr. Alan Peslak elected President of National Technology Group Association

Dr. Alan Peslak, associate professor of information science and technology at Penn State Worthington Scranton, was recently elected president of the Association for Information Technology Educational Special Interest Group.

Dr. Peslak received the honor while attending the "Joint Information Systems Education Conference" and "Conference on Information Systems Applied Research" in Nashville, TN. At the conference he also presented three blinded, peer-reviewed papers. One of those papers, "The Greening of the IT Curriculum" won the Distinguished Paper Award.  He also selected and introduced Educator of the Year Ken Kendall of Kendall and Kendall Systems Analysis and Design fame.

A member of the association's board for the past four years, he has served as Membership Director and Vice President.

"My goals are to build on the strength of our information systems organization through expanding membership and increasing our role in information sciences applied research," said Dr. Peslak, of his role as president. "I am especially committed to expanding our role in green information technology, information technology ethics, and information sciences curricular support."

The association's stated mission is to provide information science educators with the latest research in educational techniques, processes and technology.

"To further this mission," Dr. Peslak stated, "we need to expand our reach and provide unique benefits to all IS researchers and educators, from new instructors and tenure track faculty to seasoned professors and professionals. Technology remains key to improving quality of life in the world and I look forward to leading our organization to contribute to this goal."

Dr. Peslak, a resident of Peckville, began teaching at Worthington Scranton in August, 2001.  He received his bachelor's degree and a master's of business administration (MBA) from the University of Scranton, and another master's degree and his Ph.D. from Nova Southeastern University in Florida.